Welcome to The Tuna Melt Music Sharity Blog!

It is here that I post old records that I've ripped
to Mp3 format (and grouped in .ZIP files) via File Sharing Sites,
album cover scans and, sometimes,
somewhat coherent ramblings related to said shares.

None of the shares here are "borrowed" from other blogs.
All of the items shared are rips of Out-of-Print
(or, at least, very difficult to get)
Vinyl Records from my own collection.

Come on in. Look around.
Scroll downward to find available links.
I hope you find something you like.

If you don't,
you can always come back later, as the variety
of what is made available should be pretty wide-ranging.

Sunday, January 25, 2009

Andre Kostelanetz: Stereo Wonderland of Sound

Tuna Melt Pops Into the Space Age!

This record is a prime example of what has since become known as a Stereo Demonstration Album. These were records produced to exhibit the range of capabilities available using the new, at the time, Stereo Hi-Fi Systems and are otherwise known as Space Age Pop, or Space Age Bachelor Pad, records. Many were created by the manufacturers of these systems and given away with the purchase thereof. Others, however, were produced to demonstrate the latest recording techniques being utilized by different record labels and to convince customers that their products sounded wonderful on the new Stereophonic playback units.

This one is from Columbia Records, in 1961, features Andre Kostelanetz and is one really groovy record. The arrangements are, apparently, designed to showcase the recording technique more than they are to make a whole lot of sense. This results in some really strange combinations (such as "Unchained Melody" with a sumptuous Exotica background rhythm and featuring Italian Restaurant-style Mandoline along with a standard Big Band Brass Section). Weird as some of the juxtopositions may seem at first, however, the overall effect is spectacular.

Check it out!

  1. Be My Love
  2. Everybody Loves a Lover
  3. Wonderland By Night
  4. Volare (Nel Blu Dipinto Di Blu)
  5. Greenfields
  6. It's Not for Me to Say
  7. Vaya Con Dios
  8. Round and Round
  9. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
  10. So Rare
  11. Unchained Melody
  12. Marianne
You may note that I identified the record as being named "Stereo Wonderland of Sound" whereas the album jacket say's "wonderland of sound" (as well as "TODAY'S GREAT HITS"). Well… The BACK of the jacket says "Stereo Wonderland of Sound". So does the label on the record. Also, the jacket, front and back, and the label all read "The New Andre Kostelanetz" and, since I don't believe that anyone ever actually got rid of "The Old Andre Kostelanetz" and replaced him with a new one, I just left the name as plain ol' "Andre Kostelanetz". Taggin' this bugger could'a been a real pain if I'd let it be, boy howdy. Sorry for any confusion.

Monday, January 19, 2009

Spencer Collingwood, His Saxophone & Orchestra: Cool Sounds

Easy Jazz at The Tuna Melt!

My usual criteria for judging the value of any Easy Listening record is how well the music on it pairs with a Dry Martini (or, in the case of any Exotica collection, a Mai Tai). I usually find discs from this particular Hollywood Records label (there have been several with the same name) to go better with Grape Kool-Aid than any adult beverage whatsoever. I suppose, then, that it makes sense that the name Hollywood Records is currently used by a subsidiary of The Walt Disney Corporation and has released albums by Aly & AJ, The Jonas Brothers and Hillary Duff.

This Hollywood Records, though, was among the Budgetiest of Budget Labels in the 50s. Their catalog is filled with relative nobodies (such as Harry Arnold & His Orchestra, Chuck Farone & The Polka Larks, The Bengt Hindberg Trio and Uncle Bill Wiley & His Tall Corn Boys) churning out uninspired collections of pop standards and current hits, usually in jackets adorned with a photo of a female model of equal obsurity. With only a few exceptions, records on this label are often barely worth the prices (10¢ to $1.00) currently being charged by Charity Thrift Stores.

This is one of those exceptions. I have no idea who Spencer Collingwood is/was and assume, actually, that the name is a pseudonym since it appears on the label but is nowhere on the jacket. I do know that his "Orchestra" is simply a quartet. The saxophone on this record, though, is nice, relaxing and jazzy. While there's nothing here that might cause you to jump up and scream it is, at least, a pleasant enough album for kicking back and enjoying a nice beverage with. Perhaps not a Dry Martini but a blended Scotch or a snifter of cheap-ass Brandy.

  1. Stomping at The Savoy
  2. This Can't Be Love
  3. Willow Weep for Me
  4. Just You Just Me
  5. Sweet Loraine
  6. Harlem Nocturne
  7. Get Happy
  8. Perdido
  9. What Is This Thing Called Love
  10. Off Shore
  11. Lover Man
  12. Come Rain or Come Shine
You can find a great deal more information regarding Hollywood Records and lots of other old budget labels at the Both Sides Now Publishing web site.